Regional Transportation Update

Traveling into the Future

Virtual Meeting

We would like to thank everyone who attended the Regional Transportation Update event. We sincerely hope that you found it valuable.

Please join us as we hear updates from some of our regional transportation agencies and their plans for future projects.

Our moderator, Eve McMenamy, Deputy Executive Director, Spokane Regional Transportation Council, will discuss topics such as:

  • The pandemic impacts on operations and the way they approach new projects
  • Update on regional or transportation strategic plans
  • Update on funding cycle and how it aligns with projects
  • What projects are being considered in the next 5 years
  • What are your biggest challenges that the A/E/C community could help you with or remember when delivering your projects?
  • Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT): Mike Gribner, PE, Regional Administrator, Eastern Region
  • Idaho Transportation Department (ITD): Marvin Fenn, Engineer Manager 2
  • Spokane Transit Authority (STA): Susan Meyer, Chief Executive Officer, and Karl Otterstrom, AICP, Director of Planning & Development
About our Panelists and Moderator:
  • Eve McMenamy, Principal Transportation Planner, Spokane Regional Transportation Council - bio coming soon!
  • Mike Gribner, PE, Regional Administrator, Eastern Region, WSDOT - bio coming soon!
  • Susan Meyer, Cheif Executive Officer, Spokane Transit Authority - E. Susan Meyer is the Chief Executive Officer of Spokane Transit Authority in Spokane, Washington, a position she’s held since 2005. Susan earned an undergraduate degree in psychology and a master’s degree in business (MBA) from Eastern Washington University. Susan is a committee vice chair of the APTA BRT Council and is a member of several others. She also serves on the TOPS committee which recommends transit-related research projects (TCRP) for federal funding.

    At the state level Susan was recently appointed by the Secretary of Transportation to the Washington State Transportation Improvement Board which distributes nearly $100 million annually for transportation projects. She is the immediate past President of the Washington State Transit Association. Her local civic work includes serving on the Spokane Mayor’s Economic Roundtable; Downtown Spokane Partnership Board; Spokane Regional Transportation Council Board; Dean’s Advisory Board at the EWU College of Business & Public Administration; and the Honorary Commanders’ Program at Fairchild Air Force Base.
  • Karl Otterstrom, AICP, Director of Planning & Development, Spokane Transit Authority - A native of Spokane, Karl Otterstrom joined Spokane Transit’s executive team in January 2009. Prior to joining Spokane Transit was a transportation planner with King County Metro with expertise in grants, long range planning and bus rapid transit. Prior to his work at King County, he held various professional positions, including work experience with the Federal Transit Administration.

    Mr. Otterstrom graduated from Eastern Washington University, majoring in urban and regional planning. He received a Master of Urban Planning degree from the University of Washington and is a member of the American Institute of Certified Planners. He has been involved in a number of Spokane community efforts over the years including eight years as a board member of the University District Development Association inclusive of two years as the association’s chairman of the board.
  • Marvin Fenn, Engineer Manager 2, Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) 


For non-members, we are offering refunds until Monday, August 9th. For more information, please contact Terri McRae at

Share this event
Regional Transportation Update